# SAMPSON COUNTY, NORTH CAROLINA

The Sampson County Board of Commissioners convened for a recessed meeting at 6:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 13, 2018 in the County Administration Building Conference Room, 406 County Complex Road in Clinton, North Carolina. Members present: Chairman Clark Wooten, Vice Chairperson Sue Lee, and Commissioners Thaddeus Godwin, Jerol Kivett and Harry Parker.

Chairman Wooten convened the meeting and immediately acknowledged Commissioner Parker's birthday on behalf of the Board and staff. He then recognized Vice Chairperson Lee to provide the invocation.

## Item 1: Adoption of a Resolution Appointing Review Officers and Zoning Administrators

The Chairman acknowledged Assistant County Manager Susan Holder who informed the Board that a resolution would need to be adopted evidencing the Board's action at the June 4, 2018 regular scheduled meeting to appoint Review Officers and Zoning Administrators. Upon a motion made by Commissioner Kivett and seconded by Commissioner Godwin, the Board voted unanimously to adopt a resolution appointing Myron Cashwell, Anita Lane, and Cindy Cottle as Review Officers, and Myron Cashwell and Anita Lane as Zoning Administrators, effective July 1, 2018. (Copy filed in Inc. Minute Book \_\_\_\_\_, Page \_\_\_\_.)

### Item 2: Approval of Offer and Acceptance Documents for State SRP Loan and Grant for Manganese Dioxide Treatment Systems

County Manager Ed Causey informed the Board that due to the amended dates of the grant, the execution of the new documents was required. Upon a motion made by Vice Chairperson Lee and seconded by Commissioner Godwin, the Board voted unanimously to approve the Offer and Acceptance Documents for the State SRP Loan and Grant, including the re-adoption of the Resolution of the Governing Body and the Capital Project Ordinance. (Copies filed in Inc. Min. Book \_\_\_\_\_, Page \_\_\_\_\_)

## Item 3: Approval of the Memorandum of Understanding Between Sampson County and the NC Department of Health and Human Services

County Attorney Joel Starling briefly reviewed the Memorandum of Understanding as mandated by HB 630. Then Social Services Director Sarah Bradshaw discussed the Memorandum of Understanding and the various challenges and obstacles therein. She requested that the Board include a Signing Statement due to the fact that the MOU is a standardized agreement which may not address the specific challenges of individual county social services departments. In response, Mr. Starling reviewed the appeals process which helped to ease the concerns of the Board. Upon a motion made by Commissioner Godwin and seconded by Vice Chairperson Lee, the Board voted unanimously to approve the Memorandum of Understanding and approve the Signing Statement and direct that it accompany the submission of the MOU.

#### Item 4: Adoption of the Budget Ordinance for FY 2018-2019

Finance Officer David Clack presented the Budget Ordinance for Fiscal Year 2018-2019 to the Board. Upon a motion made by Commissioner Parker and seconded by Commissioner Godwin, the Board voted unanimously to adopt the Budget Ordinance for Fiscal Year 2018-2019. (Copy filed in Inc. Minute Book \_\_\_\_\_, Page \_\_\_\_\_)

The Chairman then lauded the staff for their work and fiscal responsibility, noting recent Economic Development projects and the positive impact they have had on the budget.

#### Adjournment

Upon a motion made by Chairperson Wooten and seconded by Vice Chairperson Lee, the Board voted unanimously to adjourn.